KebabSaab - Purley

Address: 60 Smitham Downs Rd, Purley CR8 4NF, United Kingdom.

Specialties: Caterer, Indian food, Takeout Restaurant.
Other points of interest: Takeout.
Opinions: This company has 14 reviews on Google My Business.
Average opinion: 2.4/5.

đź“Ś Location of KebabSaab

KebabSaab 60 Smitham Downs Rd, Purley CR8 4NF, United Kingdom

⏰ Open Hours of KebabSaab

  • Monday: 9 a.m.–5 p.m.
  • Tuesday: 9 a.m.–5 p.m.
  • Wednesday: 9 a.m.–5 p.m.
  • Thursday: 9 a.m.–5 p.m.
  • Friday: 9 a.m.–5 p.m.
  • Saturday: 10 a.m.–3:30 p.m.
  • Sunday: Closed

If you're looking for an authentic Indian food experience in Purley, United Kingdom, KebabSaab at 60 Smitham Downs Rd, Purley CR8 4NF is definitely worth considering. This takeout restaurant stands out for its specialties in Caterer services, offering a variety of Indian dishes that cater to both traditional cravings and the convenience of takeaway meals. Before you plan your visit, here are some key points of interest and recommendations to keep in mind.

Firstly, KebabSaab has gathered a decent amount of attention online, with 14 reviews on Google My Business. However, the average opinion it holds is a somewhat underwhelming 2.4/5. This suggests that while there may be some satisfaction among customers, there's also room for improvement in terms of food quality, service, or ambiance. It's always a good idea to read through the reviews to get a balanced perspective, noting both the positives and the areas that need enhancement.

For those interested in the restaurant's offerings, the Indian food served here is likely to be a mix of classic curries, tandoori specialties, and perhaps some vegetarian options, given the Indian culinary tradition's emphasis on diverse and flavorful dishes. The fact that it's also a caterer implies that they might offer bulk meals or catering services, which could be particularly useful for events or large gatherings.

In terms of practical information, the restaurant's location at 60 Smitham Downs Rd, Purley CR8 4NF is relatively accessible, making it a convenient spot for both locals and visitors in the Purley area. If you're considering a visit, it's worth noting that their takeout service is highlighted, which is a significant advantage for those looking for a hassle-free dining experience at home.

For potential customers, here are some recommendations:

1. Check Reviews: Given the average rating, it's beneficial to look deeper into specific reviews to understand the experiences of others. This can provide insights into what to expect in terms of food quality and service.

2. Order Ahead: Given that it's a takeout restaurant, placing your order in advance can save you time and ensure you get what you want without waiting in line.

3. Explore Menu: Take a moment to explore their menu online, especially if you're new to Indian cuisine or curious about their specialties. This can help you decide what to try.

đź‘Ť Reviews of KebabSaab

KebabSaab - Purley
Bhavini T.
5/5

Tony catered for my little boys 3rd Birthday, and can’t thank Tony enough! The food was amazing, the service was on point and the communication leading up to the event and on the event was perfect! We booked Tony after tasting the food at another event, and knew that’s what we wanted. Tony’s team were amazing, everyone left with full belly’s, and complementing how tasty the food was.

Tony was able to give us sound advice on the running of the event, Tony and his team went above and beyond to make sure my little boy had the best birthday.

After reading some of these reviews on google, I was somewhat nervous. The reviews on google, are the other end of the spectrum to the service we received. I am so glad we didn’t go by these reviews.

If you are looking to book, then I would highly recommend checking out Tony’s instagram page! You will not be disappointed.

Thankyou Tony! We will for sure be booking you for all future events! can’t wait to have that somassa chat again!!

KebabSaab - Purley
Bonnie K.
1/5

I am not one to write review usually but if I could save someone from booking here then I would!

My experience has honestly been something diabolical, I have never seen such poor service in my life. Tony is a man who really does promise you the world and his service to begin with looks like the best you’ll ever get. Unfortunately I had to cancel my event and I was told that I’d get my deposit refunded, I told Tony 6 months before the event was going ahead with enough notice. The anxiety that Tony provided me is something I wouldn’t wish upon anyone. I had to wait a long 5 weeks before I got my money back, I had to go to all sorts of lengths to get my money back and was fed a load of lies along the way.

I wouldn’t recommend Tony and I would save yourself for booking him

KebabSaab - Purley
Hayley S.
5/5

We used Tony and his team for our wedding breakfast and the food was amazing!!
People told us all day how good the food was & plates were empty!
He catered for gluten free and a few different dietary requirements we had.

The staff on the day were amazing, they couldn’t have done more for us.
I would recommend Tony and his team always. Super professional and amazing tasting food!

KebabSaab - Purley
Daniel L.
1/5

We used Tony for 3 days for our wedding week in July. He promises you the world and then cuts every corner possible to make money.
The food isn't bad at all, but his attitude is the thing that makes working with him or recommending him very difficult.
Across the week there were a number of issues - naming just a few...
1) After he failed to deliver the menu we agreed on our first night (swapping more complicated/expensive dishes for simpler ones), we tried to talk to him, but his attitude was incredibly dismissive and misogynistic. "It's not a big deal is it" was his classic response.
2) We paid extra for 4 bar staff. 2 turned up, and he claimed 2 were clearing glasses the whole night. At best they were part of his normal catering team. That cost us at least ÂŁ250 across 3 days.
3) we paid to have an afternoon tea, with sandwiches, samosas, tea and desserts. He failed to bring any desserts as agreed and again the attitude was 'oh I didn't have the time'. Every event if he did bring desert it was Royals pre-packaged deserts which you can get from Sainsbury's.
4) on some nights of the wedding, there was leftover food. His team used our Tupperware to pack up the food and take it home for themselves....

If you want a basic caterer who will provide half decent food for your event then Tony is your man. But at the prices he charges you should expect better.

KebabSaab - Purley
Jasdeep S.
1/5

Tony makes many promises and his Instagram photos all look very professional but unfortunately this is not what he delivers.

I have noted he has put up a video of cakes that were not from him at all. He didn't even acknowledge the people that made them or shouldn't have included them in his video.

1 week before the promised menu this was changed and wanted us to go for an Indian meal but we refused . On the function day he was very rude to our guests. One was pushed. Some didn't get salads or meat and said you either had meat or veg.

He clearly is a middle man rather than a caterer. His chefs had only met him a day before. The chefs were cooking while smoking. Apparently his Chefs were frying chips and the meat together an insult to the vegetarians.

Food nearly ran out and thus was rationed what the guests could get.

The following day the Chinese menu and afternoon tea was fine.

For the money we paid we expected better service , fresh high quality food - not frozen cauliflower, meat defrosted in Tesco bags.

We found the whole experience unprofessional, be wary of Instagram. We for sure we would never recommend him to anyone or use him in the future.

KebabSaab - Purley
Amit K.
1/5

Tony is an absolute cowboy, please do not use! He took a ÂŁ4k deposit of me for my wedding then said he couldn't do the event 1 month prior to the event and wont even pay my deposit back.

Extremely unprofessional

KebabSaab - Purley
N 2.
1/5

We recently hired Tony/Kebab Saab to cater our boy’s 1st and 2nd Birthday party, after trying his food at an event a few years prior. My wife was excited to have him cater the event and we were hopeful he would become our go to cater for any functions we had in the future.

Unfortunately, the day did not go as planned. The food as nice as it was, was served late and Tony complained about not having enough time to set up and cook, even though he turned up late himself. As part of our menu that we had paid for in advance, we were meant to have naan served with the food and Gulab Jaman and Ice cream for dessert, but neither were served on the day as Tony and his team were running late. Tony did say he would give me the desserts to take home and he would sort something out after. After the event finished, Tony did not leave the dessert behind but took it with him and he messaged us after saying that he would not do anything to compensate us, even though we had paid for items that were not served on the day. Tony ignored all our follow-on messages and emails, until our lawyer got involved. Then he was quick to offer us a very small partial refund, a refund that didn’t cover the cost of what was missed on the day, but we accepted as we wanted to close this chapter. We found him very unprofessional and even the hall providers complained to us as the Kebab Saab team left cigarette butts in the area, they were cooking in.

Never again will we hire him and for anyone hiring him going forward, make sure you get everything in writing and don’t pay for everything in advance as I can see from a previous review, this is not the first time he hasn’t served everything he was meant to at an event.

KebabSaab - Purley
Iqbal S.
1/5

We used Tony/KebabSaab to cater our sons birthday party recently and sadly the experience was awful.

Initially Tony was very responsive and promised lots, based on this we decided to go with him although did have reservations as he was very pushy when trying to get a deposit from us.

After paying a deposit things changed pretty quickly, it took weeks to get a response from Tony and he kept making excuses to avoid/put off the taster that we had been promised (at one of his functions).

We finally managed to pin down a taster to attend and when we got there he told us we were too early, although we arrived at the time he asked us to. He gave us a few starters but told us the majority of the food including mains were not available yet and he would drop some off to us in the next few weeks.

It then took a number of months to get him to drop food to us and a lot of phone calls. Getting him to visit the hall was another struggle, my wife ended up asking me to deal with him from that point onwards as he was so unresponsive and difficult. When he finally attended the venue he said everything was fine and we agreed timings.

Two days before the event he told us the times we agreed previously would not work as it was live catering and they needed more time to cook the food. This was a real disappointment to us as it was a 1 year olds party and we had planned and agreed with Tony the timings around his nap. Tony acted as if we hadn’t previously confirmed times and was not flexible at all. At this point we were two days away from the party so could not make any other arrangements otherwise I would have cancelled and arranged another caterer.

On the day Tony did not attend the function as he had another function, however when we booked had told us he is not greedy and only does 1 function at a time so would certainly be there himself.

I would like to say the catering at the party itself was great but sadly not, there were a number of big issues.

1. Some of the chicken was still raw and it was extremely embarrassing when guests told us, I informed Raj (Kebab Saab manager) and he said sorry but that’s it, really not acceptable. Some guests also told us that their chicken was raw after the function, as didn’t want to spoil the party, so it wasn’t just a few pieces.

2) We paid for kids meals that were due to include veg sticks and fruit however both items were missing on the day with no explanation, so the kids meal just consisted of chicken nuggets and chips.

3)The starters ran out and we actually had c.15 people drop out at short notice who should have been catered for.

4) A few guests informed us of plastic (seemed like fragments of cutlery) in the gajar halwa desert. Again no explanation from Tony or Raj, but we also found it in the remaining desert they packed up for us to take home.

5) The ice cream served with the gajar halwa ran out before half of the guests had even had desert.

6) The team also turned an outdoor tap on and left this running for over 7 hours while not being used. The church hall were understandably extremely unhappy about this as they are on a meter.

We relayed the issues to Tony after the party and he was not at all bothered. All of our other suppliers for the party were great however we really felt let down by Tony and would advise against booking him based on his other feedback and his attitude toward the issues I don’t think this is a one off.

Go up